Praise 104.1 Mobile App
Praise 104.1

The 28th Annual Stellar Awards, Gospel music’s biggest night was presented all the way live this year on GMC (formerly Gospel Music Channel). The energy in the place was absolutely electric! 

For the first time in the show’s 28th history it was broadcast on a cable network from the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, TN. The room was packed with Gospel’s biggest stars and fans from all across the country.

As soon as the producer started the countdown, Mary Mary and Kirk Franklin assumed their positions on stage and the show was under way.  From the moment the beat drop and Tye Tribett and crew began, you instantly knew the show was on a completely different level. Social media was going crazy as the viewers experienced at home for the first time what those in the audience felt. The power and anointing from the stage literally transferred through the Television Screen. From the surprise on LeAndria Johnson’s face winning “New Artist Of the Year”, to the thick presence of GOD when Tamela Mann sang “Take Me To The King”, Gospel fans all over the world were locked into GMC for the first time to see Gospel’s biggest night.

The first tribute of the night was dedicated to Kurt Carr, who was this years recipient of the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award. Our Sunday Joy Host, Byron Cage reminded us just how many hits Kurt Carr has written as he opened up with “The Presence Of the Lord Is Here”. Many marveled as The Kurt Carr singers stood and payed tribute to their leader Kurt Carr, with a medley of their groups most cherished songs.

When Pastor Marvin Winans hit the stage to sing “Let The Church Say Amen” a spirit of corporate worship fell over the building, as one of of the year’s biggest hits rang across the building.  To see the new generation of gospel Kierra Sheard, Anita Wilson, Amber Bullock, and Y’anna Crawley pay tribute to the late Inez Andrews along with The Caravans represented the torch being passed on. Charles Jenkins A special family moment was to see the Sheard  and Clark families reaction when Kierra Sheard won “Albertina Walker Female Vocalist Of The Year” award. Kierra had just finished singing just a few moments ago and  was totally surprised when she won.

It was great to see Pastor Donnie McClurkin and Pastor Marvin Winans on stage together doing a classic from the “Live In London and  More” album, “Who Would’ve Thought”.  Hosts Mary Mary took the place to another level with their performance of “Go Get It”. The ladies hit the stage in black outfits and dancers and brought the show to another level. The ladies also took home the award for “Group/Duo Of The Year’ and also won several awards in the Stellar Award Pre Show.

While the background vocalist did a great job along with the live band, they weren’t really needed as the audience sang along loudly to all the performances such as when Israel Houghton and Jason Nelson hit the stage to sing “It’s Not Over” and “Moving Forward”. Perhaps the only thing not shown on the show was the after effects of each performance. The worship and praise in the building could have gone on for hours, especially when Pastor Charles Jenkins and Fellowship Chicago closed the show with “Awesome”,which won “Song Of The Year”.

Here is an entire list of winners:

Artist of the Year – Marvin Sapp

Song of the Year – Charles Jenkins “Awesome”

James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award – Kurt Carr

Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award – Inez Andrews

Thomas A. Dorsey Award – Bishop T.D. Jakes

Male Vocalist of the Year – Marvin Sapp “I Win”

Albertina Walter Female Vocalist of the Year – Kierra Sheard

Group/Duo of the Year – Mary Mary

New Artist of the Year – Le’Andria Johnson

CD of the Year – Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago “The Best of Both Worlds”

Choir of the Year – Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago “The Best of Both Worlds”

Producer of the Year – Isaac Carree, Eric Dawkins, Warryn Campbell, Gerald Haddon, & Rick Robinson, Uncommon Me, Sovereign Agency/Door 6 Entertainment

Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year – Mary Mary

Traditional Group/Duo of the Year – The Williams Brothers

Contemporary Male of the Year – Fred Hammond

Traditional Male of the Year – Marvin Sapp

Contemporary Female of the Year – Le’Andria Johnson

Traditional Female of the Year – Vanessa Bell Armstrong

Contemporary CD of the Year – Mary Mary “Go Get It”

Traditional CD of the Year – Marvin Sapp “I Win”

Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year – Mary Mary “Go Get It”

Music Video of the Year – Darren Grant, “Go Get It”

Traditional Choir of the Year – Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago

Special Event CD of the Year – Mary Mary “Go Get It”

Rap/Hip Hop Gospel CD of the Year – Da T.R.U.T.H., “The Whole Truth”

Childrens Project of the Year – Annointed By God

Quartet of the Year – The Williams Brothers

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year – Charles Jenkins, “The Best of Both Worlds”

Praise And Worship CD of the Year – Jason Nelson “Shifting The Atmosphere”

It’s hard to believe that this was the first time in the show’s 28th year history that it was finally broadcast live. It was exciting to have the entire world united together celebrating Gospel music. Using the hashtag #StellarAwards the show was trending all over the Internet as fans tweeted their thoughts about the show. A huge congratulations to all the winners and to GMC for bringing this show to forefront.  Check out the Full Story on!